together unique

PhD Student / Research Assistant (f/m/d) in the field of process development and optimization

Organizational unit

Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST)

Job description

Funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), the Research Unit 5339 "AI-based Methodology for the Fast Maturation of Immature Manufacturing Processes" was recently established at KIT and the Fraunhofer IOSB.

You will be part of a large, interdisciplinary team from the fields of production engineering and computer science and explore fundamentally new approaches in seven sub-projects to make the complex development phases of new production processes faster, more cost-effective and efficient through the targeted use of AI methods.

The aim of your research work is the development, optimization and investigation of a forming process of polymeric, fiber-reinforced semi-finished products (FRP), combined with systematic and automated data acquisition and processing. A main part of your work is on the realization of an agile and flexible production system that can be quickly and adaptively reconfigured. Furthermore, your task is the selection/design and implementation of sensors and actuators as well as the investigation of the forming behavior of the FRP semi-finished products in order to achieve optimized product quality and process management. In addition to conducting the experiments, you will work intensively with the consortium's AI experts on "Design of Experiments" and the automated collection, transfer and evaluation of various data types to describe the process-structure-property relationships.

The final goal of your scientific activities for the DFG Research Unit at KIT is your doctorate.

Starting date

zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt / as soon as possible

Personal qualification

  • The applicants should hold a university degree (Masters) in the areas of mechanical engineering, chemical engineering, production engineering, mechatronics, electrical engineering or a comparable discipline.
  • Suitable candidates should also have strong English communication skills (both Oral and Writing) and must possess a strong willingness for research exploration, independence, self-learning, creativity, teamwork and communication skills.

Salary

Salary category 13, depending on the fulfillment of professional and personal requirements.

Contract duration

Initially limited to 2 years with the option of extension for additional 2 years

Application up to

December 31, 2022

Contact person in line-management

For further information, please contact Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Henning, email: frank.henning@kit.edu, phone +49 721 608-45384.

Application

Please send your application including a cover letter, your CV, and all certificates/referees in electronic form to: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Henning, frank.henning@kit.edu

vacancy number: 2229/2022

We prefer to balance the number of employees (f/m/d). Therefore, we kindly ask female applicants to apply for this job.

Recognized severely disabled persons will be preferred if they are equally qualified.

gemeinsam einzigartig

Mitarbeiterin / Mitarbeiter (w/m/d) zur Promotion im Bereich Prozessentwicklung und -optimierung

Organisationseinheit

Institut für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST)

Ihre Aufgaben

Gefördert durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) wurde am KIT und dem Fraunhofer kürzlich die Forschungsgruppe 5339 „KI-basierte Methodik für die schnelle Ertüchtigung unreifer Produktionsprozesse“ eingerichtet.

Sie werden in einem großen, interdisziplinären Team aus den Fachbereichen Produktionstechnik und Informatik in sieben Teilprojekten an grundlegend neuen Lösungswegen forschen, um aufwendigen Entwicklungsphasen neuer Produktionsprozesse durch den gezielten Einsatz von KI-Methoden schneller, kostengünstiger und effizienter zu gestalten.

Ziel Ihrer Forschungsarbeit ist die Weiterentwicklung, Optimierung und Untersuchung eines Umformprozesses für faserverstärkte Verbundhalbzeuge (FVK), kombiniert mit einer systematischen und automatisierten Datenerfassung und /-verarbeitung. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit liegt dabei auf der hardware- und softwareseitigen Realisierung eines agilen und flexiblen Produktionssystems, welches sich schnell und adaptiv rekonfigurieren lässt. Dies beinhaltet u.a. die Auswahl/-Auslegung und Implementierung von Sensorik und Aktuatorik sowie die Untersuchung des Umformverhaltens der FVK-Halbzeuge hinsichtlich optimierter Produktqualität und Prozessführung auf Basis umfangreicher Prozess- und Materialdaten. Neben der Versuchsdurchführung beschäftigen Sie sich, in Zusammenarbeit mit den KI-Experten des Konsortiums, intensiv mit „Design of Experiments“ sowie der automatisierten Erfassung, Weitergabe und Auswertung verschiedener Datentypen zur Beschreibung von Prozess-Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen.

Das abschließende Ziel Ihrer wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeiten für die DFG-Forschungsgruppe am KIT ist Ihre Promotion.

Eintrittstermin

zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt / as soon as possible

Ihre Qualifikation

  • Sie verfügen über einen überdurchschnittlichen Hochschulabschluss (Diplom (Uni)/Master) in Maschinenbau, Chemieingenieurwesen, Produktionstechnik, Mechatronik, Elektrotechnik oder einer vergleichbaren Disziplin.
  • Sie haben profunde Kenntnisse der englischen als auch deutschen Sprache in Wort und Schrift und zeichnen sich durch Teamfähigkeit sowie eine selbständige, systematische und engagierte Arbeitsweise aus.

Entgelt

EG 13, sofern die fachlichen und persönlichen Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind.

Vertragsdauer

vorerst befristet auf 2 Jahre mit der Option einer Verlängerung um weitere 2 Jahre

Bewerbungsfrist bis zum

31.12.2022

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Fachliche Auskünfte erteilt Ihnen gerne Herr Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Henning, Email: frank.henning@kit.edu, Tel. +49 721 608-45384.

Bewerbung

Ihre aussagekräftige Bewerbung (Anschreiben, Lebenslauf, Zeugnisse, usw.) senden Sie bitte in Form einer einzigen PDF-Datei per E-Mail an: Herrn Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Henning, frank.henning@kit.edu

Ausschreibungsnummer: 2229/2022

Wir streben eine möglichst gleichmäßige Besetzung der Arbeitsplätze mit Beschäftigten (w/m/d) an und würden uns daher insbesondere über Bewerbungen von Frauen freuen.

Bei gleicher Eignung werden anerkannt schwerbehinderte Menschen bevorzugt berücksichtigt.