together unique

W3 Professorship for Data Science in Mechanical Engineering (ICM-Spitzenprofessur)

Organizational unit

Division III - Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, Institute for Information Management in Engineering (IMI), KIT Department of Mechanical Engineering

Job description

We are looking for a personality with strong expertise in the field of data science and proven achievements in the area of data analysis in the context of product engineering. The process of product engineering includes product development, production, product use, and recycling in the circular economy.

Applicants should be qualified in one or more of the following research domains:

  • Further development of the methods of artificial intelligence, in particular of machine learning, in order to address large amounts of data, even with resource limitations through interdisciplinary research,
  • data-driven, highly automated engineering processes, and learning product functions,
  • research into the product engineering process (PEP), e.g. into how existing data can be used to gain insights into the course of the PEP,
  • investigation of the potential of how development methods in the area of ​​product development can be supported by information technology,
  • modeling and optimization of production processes in production engineering.

Together with another professorship at the University of Stuttgart, the announced professorship is to play a leading role in the Innovation Campus Mobility of the Future (ICM). The ICM is intended to strengthen aspects of data-driven, integrated processes throughout the product life cycle, especially for digitized products and production systems, with reference to mobility. The focus is to be on applications in at least one of the three strategic areas of the ICM: “Advanced Manufacturing,” “Software-defined Manufacturing,” and “Software-defined Mobility.”

Teaching prospective engineers to use these methods for data collection and analysis is considered one of the primary tasks of the professorship in teaching. In addition, the professorship will be responsible for the Bachelor‘s basic lecture "Informatics in Mechanical Engineering" and will establish further courses together with the Professorship for Intelligent Machines. In the Master's program, the professorship will teach the basics and in-depth knowledge of the methods, processes, and algorithms of data science to students of mechanical engineering as well as mechatronics and information technology. Cooperation in teaching with the University of Stuttgart is to be coordinated and actively strengthened by this professorship.

Moreover, the professorship participates in the international study program Mechanical Engineering International of KIT‘s Department of Mechanical Engineering.

The professorship is associated with participation in the collegial management team of the Institute for Information Management in Engineering (IMI). In the future, the institute will be managed by two professors. In addition to the advertised professorship, a second professorship is to be filled in the near future, which will focus on information acquisition and processing within the machines themselves in order to drive the transformation process towards intelligent machines. Close cooperation and coordination with this Professorship for Intelligent Machines in research and teaching is expected.

Willingness for interdisciplinary cooperation within the KIT is desired. Placing emphasis on the enhancement of its profile, KIT dedicates itself to the topic of information together with the topics of energy and mobility. In terms of research, teaching, and innovation, the professorship thus fits particularly well into KIT’s Umbrella Strategy and into the KIT Center Information - Systems - Technologies (KCIST). In addition, the Karlsruhe Research Factory and the Mechatronics Learning and Application Center (LAZ) with their extensive data on product development and production represent very attractive research environments for the professorship. Willingness to actively solicit public and private third-party funding as well as participation in academic self-governance are required.

We are looking for a personality who has an excellent track record in several of the above-mentioned focal topics through high-ranking scientific publications or patents with international visibility and who represents these comprehensively in research and teaching. Particularly desired is several years of industrial activity with experience in research and development projects as well as in the management of personnel.

Starting date

zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt / as soon as possible

Personal qualification

Employment conditions as outlined in § 47 LHG (Act of Baden-Württemberg on Universities and Colleges) in conjunction with § 20 KITG (KIT-Act) in the version applicable until the legal validity of the 2. KIT-Weiterentwicklungsgesetz (2nd KIT Further Development Act) shall apply.

Contract duration

unlimited

Application up to

August 31, 2022

Contact person in line-management

For further information, please contact Prof. Dr.-Ing. Deml, email: barbara.deml@kit.edu.

Application

The application should contain the usual documents (CV, list of publications, detailed list of previous employment, degree certificates, description of previous research and teaching activities, documents on three own contributions with a major impact in research, teaching, or innovation, teaching and research concept for the professorship, statement on scientific honesty (see DFG Code of Conduct "Guidelines for Safeguarding Good Research Practice")).

To enable an international comparison of applications, we would like you to submit the following documents in English: CV, (intended) research plan and teaching concept.

Please send your application documents to Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Division III Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, Professor h.c. Dr. Joachim Knebel, Campus South, Dean’s Office of the KIT Department of Mechanical Engineering, 76131 Karlsruhe, Germany, preferably as a single PDF file mailed to: dekanat@mach.kit.edu.

Your personal data will be processed by KIT in accordance with the following privacy policy.

KIT wishes to increase the proportion of female professors and therefore welcomes applications by female researchers.

Recognized severely disabled persons will be preferred if they are equally qualified.

KIT is certified as a family-friendly university and offers part-time employments, leaves of absence, a dual career service, and coaching to support the work-life balance.

gemeinsam einzigartig

W3-Professur für Data Science im Maschinenbau (ICM-Spitzenprofessur)

Organisationseinheit

Bereich III - Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik, Institut für Informationsmanagement im Ingenieurwesen (IMI), KIT-Fakultät für Maschinenbau

Tätigkeitsbeschreibung

Gesucht wird eine Persönlichkeit, die neben einer starken Methodenexpertise im Bereich Data Science ebenso im Bereich der Datenauswertung im Zusammenhang mit Produktentstehungsprozessen ausgewiesen ist. Der Prozess der Produktentstehung umfasst hierbei die Produktentwicklung, die Produktion, die Produktnutzung sowie die Rückführung in der Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Die Professur soll auf einem oder mehreren der folgenden Gebiete ausgewiesen sein:

  • Weiterentwicklung der Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz, insbesondere des Maschinellen Lernens, um große Datenmengen, auch unter Ressourcenbeschränkung durch interdisziplinäre Forschung zu adressieren,
  • datengetriebene, hoch-automatisierte Entwicklungsprozesse sowie lernende Produktfunktionen,
  • Erforschung des Produktentstehungsprozesses (PEP), z.B. wie aus bestehenden Daten Erkenntnisse zum Verlauf des PEP gewonnen werden können,
  • Untersuchung des Potentials, wie Entwicklungsmethoden im Bereich der Produktentwicklung informationstechnisch unterstützt werden können,
  • Modellierung und Optimierung von Produktionsprozessen in der Produktionstechnik.

Die Professur soll im InnovationsCampus Mobilität der Zukunft (ICM) als Spitzenprofessur, gemeinsam mit einer weiteren Professur an der Universität Stuttgart, leitend mitwirken. Mit dem ICM sollen Aspekte der daten-getriebenen, vernetzten Prozesse über den Produktlebenszyklus hinweg, insbesondere für digitalisierte Produkte und Produktionsanlagen, mit Bezug zur Mobilität gestärkt werden. Dabei sollen Anwendungen auf mindestens einem der Strategiefelder „Advanced Manufacturing“, „Software-defined Manufacturing“ und „Software-defined Mobility“ im Vordergrund stehen.

Diese Methoden zur Datenerhebung und -analyse angehenden Ingenieuren zu vermitteln, wird als eine der vorrangigen Aufgaben der Professur in der Lehre angesehen. Die Professur soll zudem die Bachelor-Grundvorlesung „Informatik im Maschinenbau" übernehmen und mit der Professur für Intelligente Maschinen weitere Veranstaltungen aufbauen. Im Master soll die Professur Grundlagen und vertieftes Wissen zu Methoden, Prozessen und Algorithmen des Data-Science an Studierende des Maschinenbaus sowie der Mechatronik und Informationstechnik vermitteln. Die Kooperation in der Lehre mit der Universität Stuttgart soll durch diese Professur koordiniert und aktiv gestärkt werden.

Außerdem beteiligt sich die Professur am internationalen Studiengang Mechanical Engineering International der KIT-Fakultät für Maschinenbau.

Mit der Professur ist die Mitarbeit in der kollegialen Institutsleitung des Instituts für Informationsmanagement im Ingenieurwesen (IMI) verbunden. Das Institut wird künftig durch zwei Professuren geleitet. Neben der hier ausgeschriebenen Professur soll zeitnah noch eine zweite Professur besetzt werden, die den Fokus auf die Informationsakquise und -verarbeitung innerhalb der Maschinen selbst legt, um den Transformationsprozess hin zu intelligenten Maschinen zu treiben. Eine enge Kooperation und Abstimmung mit dieser Professur für Intelligente Maschinen in Forschung und Lehre wird erwartet.

Gewünscht wird zudem die Bereitschaft zur interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit innerhalb des KIT. Das KIT widmet sich dem Themenfeld Information zusammen mit den Themenfeldern Energie und Mobilität in hervorgehobenem, profilschärfendem Maße. Die Professur passt damit in besonders guter Weise in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation in die Dachstrategie des KIT und in das Zentrum „Information • Systeme • Technologien (KCIST)“. Darüber hinaus stellen die Karlsruher Forschungsfabrik und das Lern- und Anwendungszentrum Mechatronik (LAZ) mit ihren umfangreichen Daten zur Produktentwicklung und zur Produktion sehr attraktive Forschungsumgebungen für die Professur dar. Die Bereitschaft zur aktiven Einwerbung von öffentlichen und privaten Drittmitteln sowie die Mitarbeit in der akademischen Selbstverwaltung wird vorausgesetzt.

Gesucht wird eine Persönlichkeit, die auf mehreren der oben genannten Schwerpunktthemen durch hochrangige wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen oder Patente mit internationaler Sichtbarkeit hervorragend ausgewiesen ist und diese umfassend in Forschung und Lehre vertritt. Besonders erwünscht ist eine mehrjährige Industrietätigkeit mit Erfahrungen in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten sowie in der Führung von Personal.

Eintrittstermin

zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt / as soon as possible

Persönliche Qualifikation

Es gelten die Einstellungsvoraussetzungen gemäß § 47 Landeshochschulgesetz Baden-Württemberg i.V.m. § 20 KIT-Gesetz in der bis zum Inkrafttreten des 2. KIT-Weiterentwicklungsgesetzes geltenden Fassung.

Vertragsdauer

unbefristet

Bewerbungsfrist bis zum

31.08.2022

Fachliche/r Ansprechpartner/in

Fachliche Auskünfte erteilt Ihnen gerne Prof. Dr.-Ing. Deml, E-mail: barbara.deml@kit.edu.

Bewerbung

Die Bewerbung sollte die üblichen Unterlagen enthaltenen (Lebenslauf, Publikationsliste, detaillierte Liste der Vorbeschäftigungszeiten, Abschlusszeugnisse, Darstellung der bisherigen Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit, Unterlagen zu drei eigenen Beiträgen mit großer Wirkung in Forschung, Lehre oder Innovation, Lehr- und Forschungskonzept für die Professur, Stellungnahme zur wissenschaftlichen Redlichkeit (siehe DFG-Kodex „Leitlinien zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis“)).

Für eine international vergleichende Begutachtung bitten wir Sie, folgende Unterlagen auf Englisch einzureichen: den Lebenslauf (CV) sowie das (geplante) Forschungs- und Lehrkonzept (research plan; teaching concept).

Senden Sie diese Unterlagen bitte an das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Bereich III Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik, Bereichsleiter Prof. h.c. Dr. Joachim Knebel, Campus Süd, Dekanat der KIT-Fakultät für Maschinenbau, 76131 Karlsruhe, vorzugsweise in Form einer einzigen PDF-Datei per E-Mail an: dekanat@mach.kit.edu.

Die Verarbeitung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten durch das KIT erfolgt entsprechend folgender Datenschutzerklärung.

Das KIT strebt die Erhöhung des Anteils der Professorinnen an und begrüßt deshalb die Bewerbung von Wissenschaftlerinnen.

Bei gleicher Eignung werden anerkannt schwerbehinderte Menschen bevorzugt berücksichtigt.

Das KIT ist als familiengerechte Hochschule zertifiziert und bietet Teilzeitbeschäftigung, Beurlaubung aus familiären Gründen, Dual-Career-Service und begleitendes Coaching zur Unterstützung der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie an.